

Pailp News

DAY 9 JULY 21, 2009 BREMEN, GERMANY

Awards and Closing Ceremony

From the Award and Closing Ceremony we can tell you that is was an impressive celebration. But we do not need to tell you, because you were there. We only can congratulate all of you to your achievement, equal if you won a medal or not. You can be proud!

This is our last Daily News issue for the 50th IMO 2009. Normally they were written late at night, somewhere 11 pm and 4 am. This time we are trying to get some rest, so we cannot yet tell you whether the farewell party was wonderful, but we are sure it will be.

Lisa Sauermann, Germany, first

won a silver medal at the IMO 2007 and gold medals 2008 and 2009, this year only one point away from a perfect score.



We also note that the three best buses were Bus 8 (CHN, HKG, JPN, KOR, MAC, PRK, TWN) with an average score of 27.14 coming in first, Bus 2 (BLR, GEO, KAZ, MDA, MNG, RUS, UKR) with 22.71 in second place and Bus 7 (IDN, IRN, KHM, MAS, THA, VNM) with 19.75 third.

GUESTS OF HONOR

We say thank you to the six main speakers of Sunday's anniversary celebration who took the time to be present at the award ceremony to present the medals to the successful participants.

Béla Bollobás, University of Cam-

bridge and University of Memphis, works in functional analysis, combinatorics, graph theory and percolation. Born



1943, he won a bronze and two gold medals at the first ever IMOs 1959-

Timothy Gowers, Cambridge Uni-

versity, works combinatorics and functional analysis. Born 1963, he won an IMO gold medal in 1981 and the Fields medal in 1998.



László Lovász. Eötvös Loránd

University Budapest, works in discrete mathematics and theoretical computer science. Born 1948, he won three IMO



gold and one silver medal 1963-1966. He is currently the president of the International Mathematical Union.

Stanislav Smirnov, University of

Geneva, works in complex and geometric analysis, dynamical systems, probability theory and percolation. Born 1970, he



won two IMO gold medals in 1986 and 1987.

Terence Tao, University of Califor-

nia at Los Angeles, works in harmonic analysis, partial differential equaprobations. bility, ergodic theory, combi-



natorics, compressed sensing, representation theory, and number theory. Born 1975, he won bronze, silver, and gold at the IMO 1986-1988 and the Fields medal in 2006.

Jean-Christophe Yoccoz, Univer-

sité Paris XI, Orsay, works in dynamical systems, complex analysis, and number theory. Born in 1957, he won IMO



silver and gold medals in 1973 and 1974, and the Fields medal in 1994.

TOP PARTICIPANTS

We congratulate all participants to their achievements. Very impressive scores were achieved by the three top participants.

Dongyi Wei, People's Republic of

China, first participated at the IMO in 2008. Both times he achieved gold with a perfect score.



Makoto Soejima, Japan,

two prior IMO participations, where he won bronze 2007 and gold 2008. This year he achieved gold with a perfect score.



SHORT ANNOUNCEMENTS

Changed check-out procedure Please check out at the IMO office in the Campus Center. If the office is closed, you may check out at the porter's lodge.

*

All meals are available on Wednesday.

*

Team guides should check that all their team members have their keys before leaving their rooms on 22 July. Anyone loosing their key will be charged 50 Euros.

*

We keep a photo collection of the 2009 IMO on a German web site for young math talents:

http://tinyurl.com/ne3ypn

If you register, you may upload your own pictures or exchange messages with other participants. The user interface is currently German only, but we will try to set up an English version if technically possible.

*

We thank all of you for coming to Bremen and wish you a good return to your home. We look forward to seeing you again at future IMOs, at Jacobs University, and as active members of the international mathematics community.

*

You can find an archive of the daily news letters (with color pictures) on

http://tinyurl.com/ls8260

×

Daily News was brought to you by Stephanie Schiemann, Marcel Oliver and Wilfried Kurth.







The Korean teams